Humanism: my definition

What do I mean when I say I’m a “humanist?”

For me, humanism means that I’m interested in making this planet and the human experience upon it, better for as many people as possible.

I have little to no interest in wasting time or resources on anything masquerading as truth, which is in fact untrue, untestable, mythological, fictional, or supernatural. 

I do however have an interest in thwarting attempts to disenfranchise reality by those who would see fiction replace fact, or by those whose supernatural beliefs infringe upon the natural rights of others, particularly in the public domain.

My concern is with reality, human knowledge, and ultimately the human condition. 

About R.L. Bays

R.L. Bays is a freelance writer and speaker based in Atlanta, Georgia. He is currently working on his first book, “There Are No Such Things As Ghosts: Why Critical Thinkers Already Know This,” due out in late 2014.
This entry was posted in logic, politics, Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Humanism: my definition

  1. I like your definition. I defined it too in my blog. Here’s the link if you want to check it out. :) http://wp.me/p2rnQk-2j

Leave a Reply

